DM CH 7 Activity Sheet

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Madison Area Technical College, Madison *

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101

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Marketing

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Feb 20, 2024

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docx

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3

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Digital Marketing- Weekly Activity (CH 7) Display Advertising Unit Part 1: Media Math (10 points) Employers expect digital marketers to understand basic media terminology and how to calculate. As a quick basic review, complete the following media questions: What is the CTR (Click through rate) for the following clients? (Make sure to include your decimal point in your answer) (3 points) clicks/impressions=CTR a) Client A: This client ad page had 52,000 views with 2,392 clicks. 2,392/52,000=0.046=4.6% b) Client B: This client ad page had 17,000 views with 259 clicks 259/17,000=0.015=1.5% c) Which client (A or B) had the better CTR? Client A had a better CTR What is the CPC (cost per click) for the following clients? (2 points) cost/clicks=CPC d) Murphey Campers: Advertising Costs $1550.00. Campaign had 32,000 hits. $1,550/32,000=$0.05 e) Earrings Galore received 78,000 hits during their campaign, with costs of $900.00 $900/78,000=$0.01 Measuring Efficiency: CPM ( cost per thousand) Calculations (5 points) CPM (cost per thousand) calculations are the most popular way to measure media efficiency. It is a simple mathematical formula used to compare apples to apples. By using the exposure in the formula, you get a better idea how efficient each media type is in your overall media buy. For instance, if 2 reps offered you the same number of radio commercials, but the prices were different, one might be attracted to the lowest price. The problem here is that you have not considered the “exposure” (or listenership) in radio that will help you measure which deal is actually the most efficient. Calculate the CPMs for each media type. cost/impressions*1,000=CPM f) 3 Regional TV Spots exposure: 652,000 viewers cost: $4,912.00 $4,912/652,000*1,000=$7.53 g) 20 Radio Spots exposure:1,260,000 listeners cost: $1400 $1,400/1,260,000*1,000=$1.11
h) Madison Magazine (1/2 pg) exposure: 52,000 readers cost: $2,150.00 $2,150/52,000*1,000=$41.35 i) Web Banner/ no CTR cost exposure 1,400,000 visitors cost: $1423.00 $1,423/1,400,000*1,000=$1.02 j) Which of the media above (F – I) would be the least efficient by cost and why? Madison Magazine because it cost $41.35 per 1,000 views Part 2: A/B Testing (7 points) (with a possible 4 Bonus Points) A/B testing is not only essential for every digital marketer working with banners, messaging, and CTR (click through rate) but also a lot of fun. It is amazing to see how just a small change can increase your CTR. 1. (3 points) Read these additional blogs on AB Testing and share 3 additional insights you have learned about testing. Please write your insights in your own words . Label them 1-3 . https://www.crazyegg.com/blog/banner-ad-split-tests/ https://www.crazyegg.com/blog/ab-testing-examples/ a. There are tools such as WhatRunsWhere to help you put your ads in the right places. b. Only test one part of your ad at a time to make sure that it is working properly. c. Don’t settle, continue testing to continue to grow and learn about your audience while also trying to find additional ways to grow your audience. 2. (4 points) For the next series of questions, please refer to the AB Testing Samples attached in this week’s folder. Please note that everyone will get full points for this activity as long as your explanation (the WHY) uses good terminology and reflects an aspect of digital marketing . ( “ I just think it looks better” would not qualify as a good explanation”) This section will also have Bonus Points associated with it. Because I don’t want to give you deduction points for an incorrect guess, I’m going to assign you ½ bonus point for each correct guess for the test! (All correct = 4 bonus points) Next week, I will publish the winners for each of the examples below, along with a bit more information on each. Wow, what a deal! Put on your digital marketing hats and record your answers below. Make sure to highlight the letter A or B for each of your answers below. A. Which ad (A or B) was the winner and why?
B, because while the change is simple it gives you pertinent information about the product, that it is a supplement. It doesn’t have to be fully clicked on and read to find out whether it is a patch,, cream, etc. B. Which ad (A or B) was the winner and why? A, because it is a CTA which show the audience that by filling out this information it will bring you directly to the application, whereas option B only says submit which can be confusing for the audience on what happens after you fill out the information. C. Which ad (A or B) was the winner and why? A, because it gives you more information on exactly what your information is safe from, as well as it has a more uniform look and feel to it. D. Which ad (A or B) was the winner and why? B, because it gives you pertinent information that if it was excluded may conclude in a higher bounce rate. E. Which ad (A or B) was the winner and why? A, because ethe green aligns with the websites color, which makes it look more uniform and gives it a more unified feeling. F. Which ad (A or B) was the winner and why? B, because it gives it more of an urgent feeling, as if they don’t act now, they may miss out. G. Which ad (A or B) was the winner and why? B, because it brings a more fun element into it that gives it a more enticing feeling. As well as it caters more to a younger audience, which is a huge part of todays audience.
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